Seoul Tours (cont.)

Hello everyone! As mentioned, we are posting up more details and pictures about our Seoul Tours. Please note that this is a long post, but there are a lot of pictures, so we hope you guys enjoy!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The week we arrived at Yonsei, the Yonsei Global Group on campus arranged tours of Seoul for the exchange students. There were 3 tours available. Both of us wanted to go on the third tour as it was the best choice-tour 3 involved going to the N. Seoul Tower (aka Namsan Tower) at night and the Trick Eye Museum- but it filled up very quickly, so I (Lila) ended up going to the second tour- which was to the Blue House, DongA Ilbo Newspaper company, Channel A Station, and National Assembly.

Seoul Tour #2 (Lila)

So when I read the list of places we would see, I saw that we were going to take a tour of the Blue House (청와대), DongA Ilbo (동아일보), a newspaper company, their broadcasting station, Channel A, and the National Assembly. Although I had already been to the Blue House and National Assembly, I was excited to go again. I had never seen a newspaper company and broadcasting station before so I was interested. I expected to see the production of newspapers, but it didn’t exactly turn out that way.

On the day of the tour, we started by heading to the Blue House. I was excited…but then our group walked past the Blue House. I was confused, but assumed that we would come back after a stop at Cheongwadae Sarangche (청와대 사랑채), the museum across the street. It was an interesting museum. I was able to take a picture with the President of Korea and then one by the President’s desk.

I also tried to take an awesome jumping picture with my roommate and other classmates, but we had to rush it because it was almost time to leave, so it didn’t turn out that well.

As we exited Cheongwadae Sarangche, I thought it was time to head to the Blue House…but then we walked passed it again to our buses…I guess there’s always next time.

KakaoTalk_20160317_001258540Anyways, next on the list was DongA Ilbo and the Channel A Station, as well as the press museum, Presseum. All 3 were in the same area. DongA Ilbo is quite unique. It is the only newspaper in South Korea that includes Chinese characters in their newspapers. If you look at the picture on the left, you can see a front page sample that was given to all the students on the tour. The picture on the page was taken before the tour, and we received a copy at the end.

After the company tour, we went to the Channel A broadcasting station. We didn’t spend a long time there- just long enough to snap a few pictures. Seeing this smaller station made me wish I could visit one of the bigger broadcasting stations- hopefully one with a music show 🙂

There’s not much to say about the Presseum…but here’s a picture of the great view

KakaoTalk_20160317_001258820

Lastly was the National Assembly. As I mentioned in our vlog, we weren’t able to visit the main building, but we were able to take some pictures in front of it.

And as someone who used to do gymnastics, I had to take a picture of me doing a handstand 🙂

Overall, this tour was nice- a little disappointing, as I assumed that I would get see the Blue House (청와대) and the main building of the National Assembly- but I was able to see more than if I had not gone, so it was good.

– Lila

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Seoul Tour #3 (Lillian)

I couldn’t help but feel really guilty about going on this tour because I was extremely disappointed that none of my other friends could come. When I found out that I was the only one that could go, I thought maybe I should just go another time, but everyone in the group said that I should go since it was a great opportunity.

KakaoTalk_Photo_2016-03-16-08-21-40_59.jpeg     KakaoTalk_Photo_2016-03-16-08-21-39_16.jpeg

Knowing that I wouldn’t know anybody going on the tours, I immediately decided that I would have to make some friends before getting on the bus to go on the tour. I waited 10 minutes earlier than we were supposed to, and there were tons of people just waiting to leave. I walked around and eventually met some people. We sat on the bus together, and we head to the War Memorial of Korea. We arrived a little bit late on schedule because the bus ended going into the entrance where buses were not allowed, so the bus had to back up and find another entrance. What ultimately ended up happening was that we only got to explore only one part of the museum.

KakaoTalk_Photo_2016-03-16-08-21-38_6.jpeg KakaoTalk_Photo_2016-03-16-08-21-36_13.jpeg KakaoTalk_Photo_2016-03-16-08-21-23_93.jpeg

KakaoTalk_Photo_2016-03-16-08-21-25_11.jpegKakaoTalk_Photo_2016-03-16-08-21-33_62.jpeg

 

 

 

KakaoTalk_Photo_2016-03-16-08-21-28_72.jpeg

 

As I explained in the video, the museum guide was hard to hear even though his English was pretty spot on. Therefore, I just went ahead and started taking pictures on my own. It was really interesting, and some portions of the museum were also very sad. However, the artifacts in the museum were all really wonderful and interesting.

KakaoTalk_Photo_2016-03-16-08-21-14_10.jpeg KakaoTalk_Photo_2016-03-16-08-21-20_87.jpeg

KakaoTalk_Photo_2016-03-16-08-20-51_78.jpeg KakaoTalk_Photo_2016-03-16-08-20-57_51.jpeg

KakaoTalk_Photo_2016-03-16-08-20-31_4.jpeg  KakaoTalk_Photo_2016-03-16-08-20-09_10.jpeg

After, we headed towards the mountain to go to the Namsan Tower. At some point, I got really confused though because I didn’t know that the Trick Museum was in the tower. I ultimately thought we had to skip it because our tour guides were rushing us and because I thought the Trick Museum was only in Hongdae. Apparently, I was wrong, and there were two parts to the Trick Museum in the Namsan Tower. Both of them were really great, but the first one was really interesting because we had to go through it like a maze. I think my favorite shot was the one where I was pretending to be at the edge of a building looking down.

KakaoTalk_Photo_2016-03-16-08-20-23_9.jpeg

Finally, after the Trick Art Museum, we got to go up to the actual Tower. Going on the elevator was so much fun, and it was incredibly fast. It was entertaining that they had a ceiling screen to show us a clip while going up. When I got to the top, the view was extremely incredible, and it was fun looking at the love tiles that couples put up there. On the ground floor, there were lots of couple and friendship locks everywhere. Some people even used their phone cases and wrote notes on the back of the case. After finishing touring the Namsan Tower, we ate bibimbap, and rode the cable car all the way back down to where the buses were waiting for us. I think for everything I did, 20,00o won (equivalent to $20) was definitely well spent.

– Lillian

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For those of you who read all the way through, 고맙습니당! Thank you! Hope you guys enjoyed all the pictures.

– Lila & Lillian

Leave a Reply

